Eagles Eagles

Eagles  Eagles
(1972) Asylum label.  Original release, original inner sleeve.  Obtained all of the Eagles records in my collection from Illinois in the early 1990’s.  He was going to trade them all in for credit at a used record store.  I jumped in and said “No Way.  I want them”.  I’m missing One Of These Nights.  On this debut album the Eagles are Bernie Leadon-vocals, guitar ,banjo; Glenn Fry-vocals, guitar, slide; Randy Meisner-vocals, bass, guitar;  Don Henley-vocals, drums. This album helped to established the genre known as the “California 70’s Sound” which is rooted originally in Crosby Stills, Nash, & Young; kind of a sleepy cowboy loneliness made beautiful with harmonies and coastal sunsets or drinking wine in a canyon.


  1. Take It Easy  (3:32)
  2. Witchy Woman  (4:11)
  3. Chug All Night  (3:16)
  4. Most Of Us Are Sad  (3:35)
  5. Nightingale  (4:08)


  1. Train Leaves Here This Morning  (4:10)
  2. Take The Devil  (4:01)
  3. Earlybird  (3:00)
  4. Peaceful Easy Feeling  (4:17)
  5. Tryin’  (2:53)

One of my favorite Eagles songs is on this album: Train Leaves here This Morning.  I never get tired of hearing that one– unlike many others on this album that I can’t stand to hear one more time.  Crazy how popularity can poison your art.

The photo on the back of the album cracks me up, it shows the four band members huddled together in what I imagine is the desert either at dawn or sunset.  It looks like they’re freezing their asses off–especially the picture of Bernie Leadon. I think I can hear his teeth chattering…


Eagles Eagles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s