Bob Dylan Nashville Skyline

Bob Dylan Nashville Skyline
(1969) CBS label. Original UK release original inner sleeve and glossy cover.The first thing you notice on this record is the change in Dylan’s voice on a few of the tracks.  It is in a different register and sounds unlike his previous releases. On this album Dylan has gone full tilt country.  From his duet with Johnny Cash Girl From The North Country to Nashville Skyline Rag this record is a country classic.

Side 1

  1. Girl From The North Country  (3:44)
  2. Nashville Skyline Rag  (3:14)
  3. To Be Alone With You  (2:10)
  4. I Threw It All Away  (2:26)
  5. Peggy Day  (2:05)

Side 2

  1. Lay Lady Lay  (3:21)
  2. One More Night  (2:25)
  3. Tell Me That It Isn’t True  (2:43)
  4. Country Pie  (1:39)
  5. Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You  (3:23)

On this record returns Kenny Buttrey, Charles McCoy, and Pete Drake.  Joining along as well are Norman Blake, Charlie Daniels, and Bob Wilson.  Country Pie sounds like the soundtrack to a Smokey and the Bandit movie. I should put this on more often.  It makes me smile.




Bob Dylan Nashville Skyline

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s