Bob Dylan John Wesley Harding

Bob Dylan John Wesley Harding
(1967) CBS label. Original UK release glossy cover. Story songs set with a county sensibility.  From allegorical offerings such as All Along The Watchtower to love songs such as I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight.  Joining Bob Dylan on this album are Charles McCoy on bass, Kenny Buttry on drums, and Pete Drake on steel guitar.

Side 1

  1. John Wesley Harding  (2:58)
  2. As I Went Out One Morning  (2:49)
  3. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine  (2:53)
  4. All Along The Watchtower  (2:31)
  5. The Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest  (5:35)
  6. Drifter’s Escape  (2:52)

Side 2

  1. Dear Landlord  (3:16)
  2. I Am A Lonesome Hobo  (3:19)
  3. I Pity The Poor Immigrant  (4:12)
  4. The Wicked Messenger  (2:02)
  5. Down Along the Cove  (2:23)
  6. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight  (2:34)

Critically acclaimed, this is a simple album.  It is mostly a quiet, contemplative, rainy day music kind of album.  Even the up tempo songs are boiled potatoes basic.  The harmonica is a FEATURED sound in every song– sometimes like a bird crowing, sometimes as a whistle, sometimes a job’s done blast at the end of the day.

This particular copy is really showing its age.  Almost 50 years of playing it comes through in every pop and scratch.  My absolutely favorite song is I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight.  I love this song, ranks in my top 10 favorite Bob Dylan songs of all time.  Now that I have heard it I will hum it for hours…

Bob Dylan John Wesley Harding

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s