Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young American Dream

Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young  American Dream
(1988)  Atlantic label.  Original issue original inner sleeve with lyrics.  I bought this new at Tower Records in Westwood in 1988.  It is interesting that this is CSNY’s second studio release.  Deja vu was released in 1970 and this one in 1988.  Getting the four of these guys in the studio must require the perfect alignment of the earth, moon and stars.


  1. American Dream  (3:15)
  2. Got It Made  (4:36)
  3. Name Of Love  (4:28)
  4. Don’t Say Goodbye  (4:23)
  5. This Old House  (4:44)
  6. Nighttime For The Generals  (4:20)
  7. Shadowland  (4:33)


  1. Drivin’ Thunder  (3:12)
  2. Clear Blue Skies  (3:05)
  3. That Girl  (3:27)
  4. Compass  (5:19)
  5. Soldiers Of Peace  (3:43)
  6. Feel Your Love  (4:09)
  7. Night Song  (4:17)

My favorite tracks on this album are  American Dream, This Old House, That Girl, and Soldiers Of Peace.  There is a little too much electronic drum machines for my taste on a few of these tracks.  Guilty of doing what so many other artists were doing in the late 1980’s– trying new sounds with technology.  I don’t think it works for their voices.  The pop tune That Girl has a catchy hook and Stephen Stills’ voice sounds so strong.   Compass has David Crosby lamenting about relationships using nautical themes.  Graham Nash continues to write poignant songs about war, peace, and understanding.

Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young American Dream

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s