Kate Bush Lionheart

Kate Bush Lionheart

(1978) EMI America label.  Gatefold jacket with lyrics printed on inside.  Purchased used at Record Surplus in the early 1990s.  This is Kate Bush’s second release.  Theatrical, eccentric, kind of messy and all over the place.  Sounds more like it should be a Broadway soundtrack rather than a pop music release.  The songs are not pop recipes.  The lyrics are not pop music either.  However she has pop star beauty and graces the covers of this album in very stylized photographic shots; windblown hair, L’Oreal/Covergirlish makeup perfection and lighting.

Side 1

  1. Symphony In Blue  (3:31)
  2. In Search of Peter Pan  (3:45)
  3. Wow  (3:48)
  4. Don’t Push Your Foot On The Heartbrake  (3:14)
  5. Oh England My Lionheart  (3:10)

Side 2

  1. Fullhouse  (3:13)
  2. In The Warm Room  (3:37)
  3. Kashka From Baghdad  (3:54)
  4. Coffee Homeground  (3:38)
  5. Hammer Horror  (4:37)

I am surprised Tim Burton hasn’t used this album in a film.  Coffee Homeground is a perfect Tim Burton soundtrack with circus rotations and and merry-go-round melody. Again, another album with an acquired taste.  If I feel like listening to Kate Bush this is not an album I think of putting on.  I know, I know.  I own 11 of her records!


Kate Bush Lionheart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s