The Black Keys Turn Blue

The Black Keys Turn Blue
(2014) Nonesuch label. Purchased new at Rhino Records Claremont.  Original inner sleeve including poster and copy of the CD. This album was a departure for the band– into a new sound and I love it!  Obviously inspired by Pink Floyd, kind of bluesy, and unapologetically The Black Keys.  The Black Keys are Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney and joining them on this record Brian Burton.


  1. Weight Of Love  (6:50)
  2. In Time  (4:28)
  3. Turn Blue  (3:24)
  4. Fever  (4:06)
  5. Year In Review  (3:48)


  1. Bullet In The Brain  (4:15)
  2. It’s Up To You Now  (3:10)
  3. Waiting On Words  (3:37)
  4. 10 Lovers  (3:33)
  5. In Our Prime  (4:38)
  6. Gotta Get Away  (3:02)

This album was the soundtrack for summer 2014.  Many trips to the OC to hang out with my girls and go shopping. The hit “Fever” was on the radio in regular rotation.  But the whole album is solid.  Plenty to sing along with such as “Waiting On Words” or “10 Lovers”. With Danger Mouse producing, the sound is richer, fuller.  For those who are Black Keys purists, you were probably a little disappointed in this record.  Too much of a change from the boiled down approach the band had taken for the earlier releases.  Weakest track is Gotta Get Away only because of the korny lyrics; but the hat tip to “San BerDo” is kinda cool.

No disappointment for me.  As I am writing this blog it comes to my attention, I like when an artist/band goes off in a new directions.  I am happy to go along for the ride.  This was one of those purchases where I bought the CD first, then had to own the album too.

The Black Keys Turn Blue

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s