The Beatles with the beatles

The Beatles  with the beatles
(1976) Japanese pressing, Apple label with original obi and eight page photo and lyrics booklet!  Notice UK “with the beatles” rather than US “meet the beatles”.  Original release date November 22, 1963.  This is the same day as the assassination of John F. Kennedy.

The Lennon McCartney song writing was shifting into pop stratosphere.  This album repeats the success of “Please Please Me” with originals and covers.


  1. It Won’t Be Long (2:13)
  2. All I’ve Got To Do (2:02)
  3. All My Loving (2:07)
  4. Don’t Bother Me (2:28)
  5. Little Child (1:46)
  6. Till There Was You (2:13)
  7. Please Mister Postman (2:34)


  1. Roll Over Beethoven (2:45)
  2. Hold Me Tight (2:31)
  3. You Really Got A Hold On Me (3:01)
  4. I Wanna Be Your Man (1:59)
  5. Devil In Her Heart (2:26)
  6. Not A Second Time (2:06)
  7. Money (2:51)

Liner notes written by Tony Barrow.  I love this piece right here:

“Don’t Bother Me marks the disc debut of George Harrison as a composer.  It is a fairly fast number with a haunting tune.  Behind George’s double-tracked voice the rest of the fabulous foursome creates some unusual instrumental effects.  Paul beats out a lean, hollow-boned rhythm from the claves, John uses a tamborine and Ringo hits out at a loose-skinned Arabian bongo (don’t ask me where he picked that up!) to pound out the on-beat percussive drive”.

I think this is the faintest glimmer of how George will take the band in new and experimental directions!


The Beatles with the beatles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s